Sunday, June 30, 2013

Sunday Night Sadism

So I may or may not be addicted to Devious Maids.

And by may, I mean definitely, totally, irrevocably addicted. I saw the first episode three times before tonight in addition to the original airing. Call me crazy, but I just love watching gossipy Latin women that scrub toilets and catch their employers in bed with men other than their husbands. Isn't that normal?

My addiction isn't limited to just Devious Maids. No, of course not. Drop Dead Diva is not safe from the abuse of my OnDemand capabilities. And for that, I must thank Xfinity. And my parents, since they pay for Xfinity.

Tonight, I am writing this to you with ten minutes left of Devious Maids, so I suppose now is a good time to talk about everything that has happened tonight in CableLand. Might I add: what the HELL?

Let's start with Drop Dead Diva --

Last week, we were introduced to old Jane--REAL Jane Bingum--and she was back with hell to pay on the top of her to-do list. Or...so we thought. According to tonight's episode, she's not all that concerned with getting revenge on Jane/Deb. In fact, now she wants nothing but to exonerate the last client she had before she was shot on that fateful day that started it all.

I was a little surprised about this, but I was even more upset by the fact that Fred didn't make an appearance. Honestly, how long have I been waiting to see his adorable face for more than two minutes of screen time? Am I not allowed to have what I want? On top of that, just when you think things are okay between Parker and Kim (who I was finally beginning to root for), he's getting back together with what's-her-face. What a sham.

But it was fun while it lasted (for a whole 45 minutes) to see Jane and Jane together. Their brilliant minds working in tandem was just incredible and heartwarming.

And now for the question that is bugging every Lifetime-lover: who killed Flora?

I love this show. It is gossipy and sassy and smart all at the same time. I adore the characters. From Marisol's strongheadedness to Valentina's blooming love for Remi. Speaking of which, what the hell does Genevieve have planned for her? Of course, nothing is ever allowed to go right on television. If television had a fairytale ending, the season would end in one episode. And that doesn't make for much fun.

I'm surprised at how fast clue are unfolding in this show. I wasn't expecting them to find the note Flora left in the book (ironically titled The Devil and the Pauper, if I remember correctly). But of course Adrian had to go and burn the only shred of evidence left for them. I do have a feeling what Marisol's alternate plan of action is, though...

What did you guys think? Loved them? Hated them? Didn't watch? Can't wait for more?

We'll chat about this next weekend on Sunday Night Sadism, because it seems only cruel to subject myself to the kind of torture these shows provide.

No comments:

Post a Comment