Sunday, June 30, 2013

Sunday Night Sadism

So I may or may not be addicted to Devious Maids.

And by may, I mean definitely, totally, irrevocably addicted. I saw the first episode three times before tonight in addition to the original airing. Call me crazy, but I just love watching gossipy Latin women that scrub toilets and catch their employers in bed with men other than their husbands. Isn't that normal?

My addiction isn't limited to just Devious Maids. No, of course not. Drop Dead Diva is not safe from the abuse of my OnDemand capabilities. And for that, I must thank Xfinity. And my parents, since they pay for Xfinity.

Tonight, I am writing this to you with ten minutes left of Devious Maids, so I suppose now is a good time to talk about everything that has happened tonight in CableLand. Might I add: what the HELL?

Let's start with Drop Dead Diva --

Last week, we were introduced to old Jane--REAL Jane Bingum--and she was back with hell to pay on the top of her to-do list. Or...so we thought. According to tonight's episode, she's not all that concerned with getting revenge on Jane/Deb. In fact, now she wants nothing but to exonerate the last client she had before she was shot on that fateful day that started it all.

I was a little surprised about this, but I was even more upset by the fact that Fred didn't make an appearance. Honestly, how long have I been waiting to see his adorable face for more than two minutes of screen time? Am I not allowed to have what I want? On top of that, just when you think things are okay between Parker and Kim (who I was finally beginning to root for), he's getting back together with what's-her-face. What a sham.

But it was fun while it lasted (for a whole 45 minutes) to see Jane and Jane together. Their brilliant minds working in tandem was just incredible and heartwarming.

And now for the question that is bugging every Lifetime-lover: who killed Flora?

I love this show. It is gossipy and sassy and smart all at the same time. I adore the characters. From Marisol's strongheadedness to Valentina's blooming love for Remi. Speaking of which, what the hell does Genevieve have planned for her? Of course, nothing is ever allowed to go right on television. If television had a fairytale ending, the season would end in one episode. And that doesn't make for much fun.

I'm surprised at how fast clue are unfolding in this show. I wasn't expecting them to find the note Flora left in the book (ironically titled The Devil and the Pauper, if I remember correctly). But of course Adrian had to go and burn the only shred of evidence left for them. I do have a feeling what Marisol's alternate plan of action is, though...

What did you guys think? Loved them? Hated them? Didn't watch? Can't wait for more?

We'll chat about this next weekend on Sunday Night Sadism, because it seems only cruel to subject myself to the kind of torture these shows provide.

Monday, June 10, 2013

Jim and Pam--The Ultimate Television Romance

Before anyone decides to shoot me, there are SPOILERS galore in this.

I'd recently decided to revive my love in The Office, thanks to a little video clip brought up by a certain someone...


So as a result, I spend every waking moment of my life not spent at work (which isn't much, but I do well anyway) watching The Office. Oh, and I'm one of those TV-watchers that gets very...involved in the shows that she watches. Meaning I tend to scream when things don't go my way and I scream when things happen like Jim and Pam's special moment at the end of season 2. Like I said, spoilers.

And as much as I praise the hell out of movies like Beauty and the Beast and The Little Mermaid because I am just a five year-old trapped in the ever-childish body of a 19 year-old, romances like that are just so...unrealistic. And yes, while I am going against everything that movies are supposed to be all about, how can we expect to watch all of those unrealistic movies and go back into reality where love doesn't go the way we planned?

It is fresh and different for a TV show to mimic life so honestly and still make you believe in love even after watching all of the hell it puts people through. Especially with Jim and Pam. They play this eternal game of ping pong between their relationships. Pam is with Roy, then Jim is with Katie. Jim kisses Pam, but Jim leaves and Pam leaves Roy and Jim dates Karen and Pam gets back with Roy and WHY DO THEY DO THIS TO US?

Even though they mess with our minds, we still watch. Every week. Like our lives depend on those 20 minutes between the theme and the credits. And I think that I enjoy their relationship the most because they are a couple of the most loveable characters around. They spend their days not working but playing pranks on Dwight. They live to see the shenanigans that Michael has set up for them. You want to see them make it so their years of friendship will have been for something.

Now, I'm only three seasons in, but I think I have seen enough to say that The Office is one of my favorite shows, alongside Friday Night Lights, Chuck, Greek, and Merlin. That's the honest truth.

And now, I leave you with a meme to forever torture you.