Saturday, July 13, 2013

The Future of Glee: Living Without Cory Monteith

Today has been a long day for everyone.

In a time span of four hours, we learned that George Zimmerman walks away a free man after the jury decided he was not guilty in the murder of Trayvon Martin. We also came to terms with the surprising death of Cory Monteith, our beloved Finn Hudson from NBC's Glee.

While we know it will be hard for family, friends, and co-stars who knew Monteith to move on from the shocking news that came from left field at around 2 AM this morning, there is one looming question yet to be answered. How will Glee proceed without Finn Hudson?

Present in all 88 episodes that have been released to date, Monteith is considered a pivotal protagonist in the successful series. Finn represented the jock, a group known for its low in intelligence and highly respected athletes, that learned he didn't have to stay within the confines of jock-ness. He was allowed to explore and find that he had a love for music deeper than he had realized. To many, Finn was a role model for breaking the status quo and following your heart, something that a lot of teenagers in today's world needed to hear from someone that was just like them.

Now, creators Ryan Murphy, Brad Falchuk, and Ian Brennan must face the ultimate task of keeping the glee in Glee and moving on without their star. How do you deal with the ultimate curveball in show business with the next season already partially filmed?

Unfortunately, we all know the saying--the show must go on.

While we all must pause and reflect on what has happened, the world does not stop turning. Murphy will have to alter the script dramatically to take this into account, and it will most likely not be an easy task. I'm curious to see how he will handle the change.

How will they write this into the script? It's happened before, no doubt, but the thing about death is that there is no transition out of it, especially in cases where the death come out of nowhere.

The most prominent that comes to mind is the death of John Ritter while he was shooting 8 Simple Rules. It was written into the script that his character had died as well in an episode they fittingly titled "Goodbye." There is also the question of replacement. Can they bring someone new in to play Finn Hudson? Will the Gleeks go for someone who isn't the Finn that they know and love? This will be a hard decision to make and an even tougher one to follow through with.

Cory will be missed dearly by everyone he touched, including those who knew him only onscreen. But we can't think of this as the end. We must look forward to the future and regard it as a new beginning.

Rest in peace, Cory.

Monday, July 8, 2013

Musicals, Maids, and Failed Marriages: This Week's Sunday Night Sadism

I know I'm a day late, but it's still Sunday somewhere, right?

That excuse only works when you're a raging alcoholic because it really is 5 o'clock somewhere...but I suppose a DeLorean could do the trick.

Anyway, after a fun weekend in West Palm beach where I rode this monster (and didn't die, may I add):


I watched Les Miserables and The Phantom of the Opera. Both in one night! And I know you must be thinking, "You sat down and watched two movies that run for two and a half hours? You must be crazy." My answer is, "Yes, I am absolutely crazy." I've already seen Phantom. Les Mis was absolutely beyond beautiful. Though I wasn't too hot about Russell Crowe's crowing, I can cry for days about Anne's performance. Buuuuut let me not go on forever about this because THIS is about Sunday Night Sadism!

Drop Dead Diva was a bit of a tear jerker for me. This show is famous for coincidental cases that just happen to align with whatever that character is going through, and I know that you know what I'm talking about. Oh of course, Kim is helping a pregnant woman and Owen is the new partner and Jane gets assigned to a jilted bride. Thanks, Owen. Real subtle.

But you know what? I think this needed to happen for Jane. As Jane was practically begging on her knees for Owen to take her back, I almost didn't want him to agree to her terms. We have been rooting for her to be with Grayson for five long seasons. I'm not going to give up on her now.

Now about Devious Maids...

Poor, poor Sam. Adoring a woman who uses him time and time again (and we're only three episodes into the first season...) that is selling herself out to get her dream with some creep of a producer that is just interested in sleeping with her. And what about Olivia the crazybitchofanex spilling Taylor's dirty laundry in the middle of a supermarket? How overdone yet still amazingly bitchy.

At first, I doubted Genevieve's motives when she said she would help Valentina and Remi get together, I get the feeling that she actually wants them to be together, despite Zoila's negative experience with Genevieve's brother. And that was quite the shock.

Why am I not surprised to hear that Adrian Powell gives prostitutes to his friends? He has his mind permanently installed in the gutter. Quite disgusting, if I do say so myself. If only they could see what we see and know what we know. But I think Marisol is getting closer to the answers she's looking for. Hopefully she does very, very soon,

Sunday, June 30, 2013

Sunday Night Sadism

So I may or may not be addicted to Devious Maids.

And by may, I mean definitely, totally, irrevocably addicted. I saw the first episode three times before tonight in addition to the original airing. Call me crazy, but I just love watching gossipy Latin women that scrub toilets and catch their employers in bed with men other than their husbands. Isn't that normal?

My addiction isn't limited to just Devious Maids. No, of course not. Drop Dead Diva is not safe from the abuse of my OnDemand capabilities. And for that, I must thank Xfinity. And my parents, since they pay for Xfinity.

Tonight, I am writing this to you with ten minutes left of Devious Maids, so I suppose now is a good time to talk about everything that has happened tonight in CableLand. Might I add: what the HELL?

Let's start with Drop Dead Diva --

Last week, we were introduced to old Jane--REAL Jane Bingum--and she was back with hell to pay on the top of her to-do list. Or...so we thought. According to tonight's episode, she's not all that concerned with getting revenge on Jane/Deb. In fact, now she wants nothing but to exonerate the last client she had before she was shot on that fateful day that started it all.

I was a little surprised about this, but I was even more upset by the fact that Fred didn't make an appearance. Honestly, how long have I been waiting to see his adorable face for more than two minutes of screen time? Am I not allowed to have what I want? On top of that, just when you think things are okay between Parker and Kim (who I was finally beginning to root for), he's getting back together with what's-her-face. What a sham.

But it was fun while it lasted (for a whole 45 minutes) to see Jane and Jane together. Their brilliant minds working in tandem was just incredible and heartwarming.

And now for the question that is bugging every Lifetime-lover: who killed Flora?

I love this show. It is gossipy and sassy and smart all at the same time. I adore the characters. From Marisol's strongheadedness to Valentina's blooming love for Remi. Speaking of which, what the hell does Genevieve have planned for her? Of course, nothing is ever allowed to go right on television. If television had a fairytale ending, the season would end in one episode. And that doesn't make for much fun.

I'm surprised at how fast clue are unfolding in this show. I wasn't expecting them to find the note Flora left in the book (ironically titled The Devil and the Pauper, if I remember correctly). But of course Adrian had to go and burn the only shred of evidence left for them. I do have a feeling what Marisol's alternate plan of action is, though...

What did you guys think? Loved them? Hated them? Didn't watch? Can't wait for more?

We'll chat about this next weekend on Sunday Night Sadism, because it seems only cruel to subject myself to the kind of torture these shows provide.

Monday, June 10, 2013

Jim and Pam--The Ultimate Television Romance

Before anyone decides to shoot me, there are SPOILERS galore in this.

I'd recently decided to revive my love in The Office, thanks to a little video clip brought up by a certain someone...


So as a result, I spend every waking moment of my life not spent at work (which isn't much, but I do well anyway) watching The Office. Oh, and I'm one of those TV-watchers that gets very...involved in the shows that she watches. Meaning I tend to scream when things don't go my way and I scream when things happen like Jim and Pam's special moment at the end of season 2. Like I said, spoilers.

And as much as I praise the hell out of movies like Beauty and the Beast and The Little Mermaid because I am just a five year-old trapped in the ever-childish body of a 19 year-old, romances like that are just so...unrealistic. And yes, while I am going against everything that movies are supposed to be all about, how can we expect to watch all of those unrealistic movies and go back into reality where love doesn't go the way we planned?

It is fresh and different for a TV show to mimic life so honestly and still make you believe in love even after watching all of the hell it puts people through. Especially with Jim and Pam. They play this eternal game of ping pong between their relationships. Pam is with Roy, then Jim is with Katie. Jim kisses Pam, but Jim leaves and Pam leaves Roy and Jim dates Karen and Pam gets back with Roy and WHY DO THEY DO THIS TO US?

Even though they mess with our minds, we still watch. Every week. Like our lives depend on those 20 minutes between the theme and the credits. And I think that I enjoy their relationship the most because they are a couple of the most loveable characters around. They spend their days not working but playing pranks on Dwight. They live to see the shenanigans that Michael has set up for them. You want to see them make it so their years of friendship will have been for something.

Now, I'm only three seasons in, but I think I have seen enough to say that The Office is one of my favorite shows, alongside Friday Night Lights, Chuck, Greek, and Merlin. That's the honest truth.

And now, I leave you with a meme to forever torture you.


Monday, May 20, 2013

Shit, They Made a Sequel? Star Trek Into Darkness Review

I'm starting a new segment of my blog. Well, I'm actually starting the first segment of my blog because I don't really have anything ongoing yet, so here we are! I have half an hour to write this before work and it's pouring outside. I picked the worst day to want to write. I thought I'd try my hand at movie reviews since I'm so cultured and all. Last night, I went to see Star Trek Into Darkness, the sequel to--you guessed it--Star Trek.



All right, let me start this off with a little of my Trekkie background: I have never seen The Next Generation or The Original Series, so my knowledge of Star Trek-related information is limited. I know only what has been mentioned in these two movies and therefore will not be criticizing the movie from a picky, way-back fan as many people have and will. 

Let's recap a little, shall we?

Last time we were all huddled together eating butter-soaked popcorn in dirty movie theaters that charge $10.25 for a 13 year-old to see a damn movie on a Sunday night, Jim Kirk was just an ordinary guy who liked to hit on women and wasn't particularly ambitious about his career. Oh, but we all know how his father sacrificed his life for the lives of his crew on the U.S.S. Enterprise. His wife subsequently made his son a living tribute to her husband in naming him Jim as well. Seriously, mom, way to up the expectations.

Admiral Markus stops by on a particularly bloody scene in a bar where Kirk got his ass beat on and decides to convince young Kirk to join Starfleet, the exploratory organization meant to gather observations on extraterrestrial lifeforms and other space-based things. Long story short, he hates Spock, a Vulcan, who watches his planet burn to pieces, and then loves him. We see old Spock and our Spock and Kirk is the captain of the Enterprise, Starfleet's biggest and baddest ship. The end. Why did I decide to sum up the first one? Oh well.

Back to my Fast forward a little bit and now we're on a planet that "hasn't so much as invented the wheel yet." (I was going to fact check that quote but instead I found an angry rant about how this movie sucked. Now I feel like I've gotten myself in too deep.) The first time I saw the trailer was at the midnight premiere for The Hobbit. I thought I had come into the wrong movie because the clip lasted a full ten minutes, covering the entire beginning of the movie. But the colors were vivid and beautiful, something I would've loved to see in IMAX 3D if I didn't throw up after The Hobbit. I was excited.

I've never been a fan of Benedict Cumberbatch. Cue all the teenage girls on Tumblr with their Sherlock and Doctor Who shirts screaming "DALEK" at me (still have no idea what that is). Tried watching an episode of Sherlock and was honestly freaked out by how fast Cumberbatch spoke. But in this sequel, he was fantastic. A true villain. Ruthless, well-spoken, manipulative. The guy you love the hate. We spent the entire movie battling internally whether or not Harrison (aka Khan) was the bad guy. Was Markus the bad guy? Was the right decision made?

Thematic undertones of morality really created dimension for these characters, and as a fiction writer that is something I truly admire. At the end of the film, just as Captain Kirk's systems failed and his hand slipped from the glass, you could see Spock finally feeling the way people have been hoping to have their guards up for all eternity. I adored it.

For those of you who have watched it, what are your thoughts? Did you expect the end? Will there be another? Leave your comments below!

Friday, May 10, 2013

Because I am Surrounded by Creativity

When I listen to creative and insightful people talk, there is a mechanism in me that triggers my pen to move again. This mechanism has been activated yet again after remaining silent for quite some time. Looking back at my last post, I haven't written since April 18th. And even though I had the urge to grab some receipt paper at work and write a poem instead of, you know, work (which I did end up doing), I haven't written much since then. Maybe not at all since then. I find that mildly depressing.

For the past couple of days, I have been abusing my new iPhone and the fantastic feature of being able to listen to fascinating people all day, every day for free. Even as far as seven years ago, I enjoyed downloading podcasts onto my whatever-generation iPod nano. However, the iPhone makes it so much more accessible. I've listened to one TED Talk from Sir Ken Robinson and two TED Radio Hours on NPR in the past two days (one of which I repeated because I enjoyed it so much). It makes me so happy to hear that there are people who think so similarly to me and that there are more ideas out in the world than I can comprehend.

I just gave you this huge anecdote to literally introduce a poem I wrote in my head on the way home tonight. This doesn't usually happen, but I'm happy it did.

One Day

I don't need a Kleenex to dry my tears
Or the overly-willing hand of a boy or his shirt sleeve.
I have my own hands to drag across my tear-stained face.
I have my own sleeve to ease my eyes of their burden.
But I hate to think that there is still that part of me,
That fraction of my soul,
That begs for that ever-so silent Kleenex he has hidden.
And one day, even though I have my own two hands,
He'll relieve me of my burden.
For just one day.

Aaaaaaaaaand because I love this woman more than I should love a person I've never met, here is Elizabeth Gilbert's TED Talk. If you don't recognize her name, you should. She wrote Eat Pray Love (which totally had me crying more than necessary).


Thursday, April 18, 2013

To Cho Chang From The Faceless Latina

It's that time of night where I should be turning off my light rather than plugging in my computer charger, but you know that isn't an option for me. I mean, look at the time. It's not even 4 am yet. And I'm actually putting off getting my charger because it's not that time...yet.

Tonight's topic has been sitting in my mind for a few days. I saw a spoken word poetry video on YouTube that got me thinking. But I'll let the video speak for itself.


Without further ado, this is my response.

To Cho Chang, From The Faceless Latina

I will never get to work at Disney World as my favorite princess. We are one in the same--curious, book-crazy, loving, adventurous--but we are not one in the same. We can want the same things and dream the same dreams, but still I can never put on that beautiful yellow ball gown and call myself "Belle." I cannot call myself beautiful because I have been told since childhood that my skin is not the same color as hers. I will not be a role model for young girls the same way Belle has been there for me because they won't look past our skin color. They won't see how truly alike we are. I am no Snow White. I am not a mermaid with beautiful red hair. I will never be the heroine I want to be because movies and books haven't portrayed me that way.

But I won't let that stop me.

I will write my own story. I will forget that there's an Asian princess, a Native American princess, an Arabic princess, a Scottish princess, and even an African-American princess while there is not a Spanish princess or a Cuban princess to represent me. I will forget about the princess who doesn't even have legs and the one who fell for a beast. Instead, I will remember that my mother told me, "If you want to get something done, you need to do it yourself," and write my own story.

So yes, while I can sympathize because you and I are traveling along the same road, I see where that road diverges and we diverge as well. You will travel along the road of complaint and compliance, but I will do something for myself because I can't sit back and watch someone else's pen move while mine is idle. That is not the way my story will end.

Wednesday, April 3, 2013

Reasons Why I Appreciate John Mayer

If you got a chance to read my last blog, you probably know that I posted a John Mayer song (unless you're one of those people who skips over addendum at the end of a post because it's "pointless"). But I won't harp you on it because I am guilty of doing the same thing.

Now, I may not be the number one John Mayer fan. Or number two. Or...100. I'm no Taylor Swift.



Really, I don't listen to him in all honesty, but I do have widescale appreciation for his music regardless of whether or not I only know "Free Fallin.'" When I was writing that blog, I was listening to Yiruma radio, which is this awesome guy that my friend Annissa showed me. As Spotify radio goes, you lose the genre you were originally listening to first and kind of get mixed into something else. Although nothing will ever be as bad as Lil Wayne on blink-182 radio on Pandora. Thanks Pandora. You obviously know me inside and out.

Well, John Mayer's song came up, and it felt like I was finally listening to something that was soothing and awesome at the same time. I'm still working on that Productivity Playlist I talked about last time, but we'll shave that for later...



Here is my list of reasons why I have a budding appreciation for John Mayer:


5. He is handsome as hell. Take a look at those arms, and that hair...it makes you want to write a teenage fan fiction.

4. His music is chill. We need more of that in the world. Less LMFAO, more Mayer.

3. He has the same initials as one of my favorite bands of all time, Jack's Mannequin (This is minor, but I wanted to include it).

2. He supports veterans. That's some extra brownie points in my book, if you ask me.

1. Have you heard his voice? Obviously not if you didn't think this wouldn't be the number one reason.

I have been so careful lately to listen to new music because I am all too comfortable with everything that I listen to now. What's the point in learning more when your iPod can't hold another 13 song album? But I find comfort in hearing that there is ample decent music left in the world. I hope you guys enjoy your evening and I'm looking forward to when we chat again.



Tuesday, April 2, 2013

A Piece of Poetry

I never got around to writing another blog post, but sitting here in the dead of night, I did actually write a poem. I used to write poems constantly. Something would just happen in my head and I would have something to write about. Nowadays, inspiration is a little harder to come by, but I am trying to write every day now.

When I Yell At You

When I yell at you
We hear two different things:
You hear my high-pitched
Bitching.
I hear my high density
Cries.
You hear flaws and faults.
I hear pleas and prayers.
I yell because you
Don’t need to see me cry.
I yell because I’d rather not
Show you my sadness.
I’d rather not make myself
Vulnerable again.

And to end the night, a song from my upcoming playlist on Spotify entitled Productivity Playlist:

Monday, March 18, 2013

Just Write

I'm worried that my blog might become all about ridiculous puns since my URL includes one and the title of this post is borderline corny as hell, but I'm actually being straightforward in the case of tonight's post.

I told you previously that I have no idea what this blog is supposed to be about. Well, I gave you a hint of what it could be about (music, writing, movies, the like), but I never officially established a theme for the website. This still holds true, unfortunately, because I've yet to be hit with the lightning of inspiration that could pull everything together.

Speaking of which, here's a quote I read tonight--"A poet is someone who stands outside in the rain hoping to get struck by lightning." A man by the name of James Dickey said/wrote this, but I unfortunately have no idea who he is. Maybe next time I'll talk about him, if I ever get around to reading his poetry. (Note to self: read James Dickey's poetry.)

I decided to look up a picture of ol' Dickey.



This brings me to my topic for today, and it kind of has to do with everything I just mentioned. I don't have any idea in the world what this blog should be about, yet here I am writing. My best friend Annissa (a fellow writer, no surprise there--it runs in the name, I suppose) encouraged me to write constantly. She writes for a blog called Crazytown in which a bunch of musically-inclined geniuses get together and write weekly about their musical inclinations. She is crazy good at what she does, hence the appropriate home for her writing.

I realized tonight that you just have to write, whether you have something to write about or not. It doesn't have to be perfect because nothing really is on the first draft. Hell, I just felt like I had to get something down on...erm...virtual paper? That's what this is. Because if you don't write, someone else will, and whatever you could have written is lost to the abyss of dead poem or novels or screenplays because you didn't sit down for 20 minutes and write. And that is the worst feeling of all.

So listen to me. Write for a little. Write about your day, what you heard on the news, anything. Inspiration is everywhere. As long as you get something down on paper (whether it's Microsoft Word or the real stuff), you've done something worthwhile. Who knows what you'll get out of a cool writing prompt and a story on the news?

If you like musicals and writing and all that jazz, read Annissa's latest blog post here. She's funny as hell and she has a great section called Close Encounters of a Patron Kind. I hope you enjoy!

And to end the night, a little spoken word poetry from my fav.

Thursday, March 7, 2013

Starting Over (Again)

I have a lot of bad habits.

I procrastinate (in fact, I'm procrastinating right now).
I have a temper that sometimes can't be controlled.
I'm sometimes a walking contradiction.
I can't keep in constant contact with my best friends.
I read multiple books at once.
I can't ever drink an entire can of Coke.
But most of all, I can never finish something I start. Ever.

I'm hoping (for the last time) that this is a beginning that might actually have an end. Not a premature end forced by negligence and forgetfulness. Hopefully, this blog will have its own story, something that I've never been able to do before.

I haven't really come up with a concept for this blog (oh yeah, that's another bad habit--I tend to jump without looking and fall on my face as a result), but it's going to be centered around music, books, movies, and musicals, aka everything that I love. I hope that, in one way or another, I can keep your attention and keep mine, too. I hate the fact that I constantly wallow in self pity about not writing, and this is where the excuses stop. I'll try and post on a regular basis, maybe once a week for now. Maybe it'll increase in the future; we just have to see where this goes I guess.

Thank you for joining me on this journey. I hope I don't disappoint you, or myself.